Player of the Year Award

2022 Player of the Year: Jason Belmonte

After winning a single-season, career-high five titles, including the 14th major of his career at the PBA Players Championship, Jason Belmonte was named the 2022 Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year.

This award marks the seventh of Belmonte’s career, tying Walter Ray Williams Jr. for the most in PBA history. While Williams Jr.’s Player of the Year awards spanned from 1986-2010, a testament to his unprecedented longevity, Belmonte has won all seven awards in the past 10 seasons.

The 39-year-old Australian led the tour in 2022 with $302,525 in earnings, 34,230 points, five titles, eight top-5 finishes and 13 top-10 finishes. His 224.38 average over a tour-high 380 games ranked second behind EJ Tackett.

Belmonte separated himself from his peers in championship rounds: He compiled a 16-4 record on national television and a 20-4 overall record. Title match wins over Player of the Year contenders Simonsen (PBA Scorpion Championship), Dom Barrett (PBA Tour Finals) and Tackett (The Storm Cup: Lubbock Sports Open) proved critical to his campaign.

Previous Winners

Date Name
2022 Jason Belmonte
2021 Kyle Troup
2020 Jason Belmonte
2019 Jason Belmonte
2018 Andrew Anderson
2017 Jason Belmonte
2016 EJ Tackett
2015 Jason Belmonte
2014 Jason Belmonte
2013 Jason Belmonte
2012 Sean Rash
2011 Mika Koivuniemi
2010 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 Wes Malott
2008 Chris Barnes
2007 Doug Kent
2006 Tommy Jones
2005 Patrick Allen
2004 Mika Koivuniemi
2003 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 * Parker Bohn III
2000 Norm Duke
1999 Parker Bohn III
1998 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1996 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1995 Mike Aulby
1994 Norm Duke
1993 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1992 David Ferraro
1991 David Ozio
1990 Amleto Monacelli
1989 Amleto Monacelli
1988 Brian Voss
1987 Marshall Holman
1986 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1985 Mike Aulby
1984 Mark Roth
1983 Earl Anthony
1982 Earl Anthony
1981 Earl Anthony
1980 Wayne Webb
1979 Mark Roth
1978 Mark Roth
1977 Mark Roth
1976 Earl Anthony
1975 Earl Anthony
1974 Earl Anthony
1973 Don McCune
1972 Don Johnson
1971 Don Johnson
1970 Nelson Burton Jr.
1969 Billy Hardwick
1968 Jim Stefanich
1967 Dave Davis
1966 Wayne Zahn
1965 Dick Weber
1964 Bob Strampe
1963 Billy Hardwick