Date Name
2016 Tom Smallwood
2015 Josh Blanchard
2014 Brett Spangler
2013 Ryan Shafer
2012 Martin Larsen
2011 Jack Jurek
2010 George Lambert IV
2009 Ryan Shafer
2008 Riga Kalfas
2007 Richard Wolfe
2006 Jack Jurek
2005 Jason Queen
2004 Tim Criss
2003 Jason Queen
2002 * Justin Hromek
2000 Justin Hromek
1999 Justin Hromek
1998 Tim Criss
Butch Soper
1997 Rick Steelsmith
1996 Curtis Odom
1995 Mike Aulby
1994 Mike Aulby
1993 Parker Bohn III
1992 Parker Bohn III
1991 Parker Bohn III
1990 Parker Bohn III
1989 Dave Husted
1988 Dave Husted
1987 Steve Martin
1986 Steve Martin
1985 Steve Martin
1984 Jim Pritts Jr.
1983 Rich Gradley
1982 Sam Zurich
1981 Tom Baker
1980 Tom Baker
1979 Alvin Lou
1978 Gil Silker
1977 Don Johnson
1976 Tommy Hudson
Les Schissler
Les Zikes
1975 Jim Frazier
1974 Gary Dickinson
1973 Gary Dickinson
Dick Ritger
1972 Gary Dickinson
1971 Mike Orlovsky
1970 Dick Ritger
Dave Soutar
John Guenther
1969 Ralph Engan
1968 Ralph Engan
1967 Johnny Guenther
1966 Johnny Guenther


Tom Smallwood

Tom Smallwood has been a popular competitor since joining the PBA Tour in 2009. After losing his job with General Motors during the economic downturn, Smallwood decided to pursue his childhood dream of competing on the PBA Tour. He entered the former PBA “exempt tour” qualifier in Allen Park, Mich., and won an exemption to bowl full-time the following season. But he then pulled off a dream victory, winning the PBA World Championship for $50,000 and his first Tour title, resulting in enormous national media attention that included a feature in Sports Illustrated, network television exposure and major national newspaper features.

Smallwood won a second title in the 2013 PBA Scorpion Championship and he has made 11 additional championship round appearances, including runner-up finishes in the 2011 PBA Tournament of Champions and the 2016 PBA World Championship.

“It’s a really a good deal,” Smallwood said, adding with a grin, “When you don’t say much, people think you’re nice, but it’s nice to be thought of as a good guy. I spend a lot of time with (three-time Nagy award winner) Parker Bohn, and I know what kind of guy he is. To be in the group with him, and the other winners, is pretty cool.”

Other nominees for the Nagy award included 2015 winner Josh Blanchard of Mesa, Ariz.; Lavoie; Brad Miller of Raytown, Mo., and Jon Van Hees of Charlestown, R.I.

*The 2002 awards where based on the 2001-02 season, marking a transition from calendar-year to seasonal.