Date Name
2016 EJ Tackett
2015 Jason Belmonte
2014 Jason Belmonte
2013 Jason Belmonte
2012 Sean Rash
2011 Mika Koivuniemi
2010 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 Wes Malott
2008 Chris Barnes
2007 Doug Kent
2006 Tommy Jones
2005 Patrick Allen
2004 Mika Koivuniemi
2003 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 * Parker Bohn III
2000 Norm Duke
1999 Parker Bohn III
1998 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1996 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1995 Mike Aulby
1994 Norm Duke
1993 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1992 David Ferraro
1991 David Ozio
1990 Amleto Monacelli
1989 Amleto Monacelli
1988 Brian Voss
1987 Marshall Holman
1986 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1985 Mike Aulby
1984 Mark Roth
1983 Earl Anthony
1982 Earl Anthony
1981 Earl Anthony
1980 Wayne Webb
1979 Mark Roth
1978 Mark Roth
1977 Mark Roth
1976 Earl Anthony
1975 Earl Anthony
1974 Earl Anthony
1973 Don McCune
1972 Don Johnson
1971 Don Johnson
1970 Nelson Burton Jr.
1969 Billy Hardwick
1968 Jim Stefanich
1967 Dave Davis
1966 Wayne Zahn
1965 Dick Weber
1964 Bob Strampe
1963 Billy Hardwick


EJ Tackett

Thanks in part to a commanding performance in the end-of-season GEICO PBA World Series of Bowling in Reno, which included his first major title in the PBA World Championship, 24-year-old EJ Tackett of Huntington, Ind., was the overwhelming choice as the 2016 GEICO Chris Schenkel Professional Bowlers Association Player of the Year.

The results of voting by his fellow PBA members and international bowling news media representatives was announced by PBA CEO and Commissioner Tom Clark during Sunday’s Main Event Terrell Owens PBA Super Clash which aired live on ESPN.

Clark also announced that 23-year-old Quebec City native Francois Lavoie was selected as the 2016 Harry Golden Rookie of the Year, becoming the first Canadian ever to win that award. The 2016 Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award, selected by PBA Tour players, went to Tom Smallwood of Saginaw, Mich., and the 2016 Tony Reyes Community Service Award winner for exceptional community or charitable activities was Rhino Page of Orlando, Fla.

Tackett, PBA’s only four-time title winner in 2016, was involved in a highly-competitive Player of the Year race coming into the World Series where he not only won the PBA World Championship for his fourth title of the year and he was one of three players to qualify for the match play finals in all four PBA animal pattern championships (Cheetah, Chameleon, Scorpion and Shark) that are part of the WSOB. He ended the year as the PBA’s earnings leader ($154,900) and finished third in scoring average (224.49 for 490 games).

In addition to the PBA World Championship, Tackett won titles in the 2016 Xtra Frame Storm Open, Xtra Frame PBA Team Challenge and the Bear Open during the PBA Fall Swing.

At age 24, he became the second-youngest player to win PBA’s top annual individual honor. Only the late Billy Hardwick was younger when he was selected as PBA’s first Player of the Year in 1963 at age 22.