Paramus Bowling, Paramus, N.J., Oct 9-16, 1971

Lemongello Squeezes Davis

The long-running National Championship reached new heights in 1971, largely through the participation of the Bellows-Valvair Corporation. The event, valued at $85,000, was played at Paramus Bowling in Paramus, N.J., and the enrichment of this prestige tournament made for a $12,500 first play payoff for Mike Limongello, the North Babylon, N.Y., pro who seems always to capture the big ones.

The windup was a heart-breaker for Dave Davis and continued a string of second-place finishes in recent competitions for the lefthander who went into the fray seeking his third Nationals title and his 13th victory in a long career. But, all he came away with was his ninth runnerup placing in less than two seasons of play.

The final score of the championship game-viewed by millions on ABC-TV's Wide World of Sports, was 207-202 and, if the final score indicates a spine-tingler, that's just what it was.

Davis was virtually untouchable in the 56 games leading up to the finals at the place from which the first live PBA event was shown over a decade ago. In the match game portion, Davis took 19 of 24 games and averaged nearly 217. But, when the TV lights went on, Lemongello began his all-winning effort, dumping three foes on his way to the crown.

First to go down to defeat was Gus Lampo, by a 225-165 count. Then, Dave Soutar, himself a former winner of the National Championship, bit the dust as Lemongello uncorked a 267 game. Teata Semiz was next to fall before Lemongello and then it was the big number.

Lemongello opened with a strike against Davis, then nursed a one-pin lead over his opponent with half the game gone. Davis rung up three strikes, giving him an eight-pin margin and when Lemongello finished first, with his 207, all Dave had to do was get a mark in the last frame. Instead, Dayis left the 4-7-10 split and when he failed to pick it up, he had to be content with second place money of $7,000. Semiz received $5,000, while Soutar and Lampo earned $4,000 and $3,000 respectively.


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
1Mike Limongello, N. Babylon, N.Y.911 (4 games)$12,500
2Dave Davis, Miami, Fla.202 (1 game)7,000
3Teata Semiz, River Edge, N.J.203 (1 game)5,000
4Dave Soutar, Gilroy, Calif.223 (1 game)4,000
5Gus Lampo, Endicott, N.Y.165 (1 game)3,000

PLAYOFF RESULTS-Lemongello defeated Lampo, 225-165; Lemongello defeated Soutar, 267-223; Lemongello defeated Semiz, 212-203; and in the championship game Lemongello defeated Davis, 207-202.


 Name, City/StatePins  WLT+TotAmt
1Dave Davis, Miami, Fla. 12130 19-6-0 570 12700 
2Teata Semiz, River Edge, N.J. 11842 19-5-0 570 12412 
3Dave Soutar, Gilroy, Calif. 12003 13-11-0 390 12393 
4Mike Limongello, N. Babylon, N.Y. 11892 15-9-0 450 12342 
5Gus Lampo, Endicott, N.Y. 11928 13-11-0 390 12318 
*6Earl Anthony, Tacoma, Wash. 11835 16-9-0 450 12285 $2,560
7Bobby Cooper, Houston, Texas 11843 14-10-0 420 12263 2,200
8Butch Gearhart, Houston, Texas 11887 12-12-0 360 12247 2,000
9Norm Meyers, St. Louis, Mo. 11768 13-11-0 390 12158 1,800
10Billy Hardwick, Louisville, Ky. 11809 11-21-1 345 12154 1,600
11Bob Strampe, Detroit, Mich. 11715 13-10-1 405 12120 1,500
12Ralph Engan, Brookfield, Conn. 11696 12-11-1 375 12071 1,400
13Barry Asher, Costa Mesa, Calif. 11755 10-14-0 300 12055 1,360
14Jim Maxey, Atlanta, Ga. 11620 14-10-0 420 12040 1,300
15Terry Booth, Mountain View, Calif. 11678 11-12-1 345 12023 1,250
16Les Zikes, Palatine, Ill. 11643 10-14-0 300 11943 1,200
17Timmy Harahan, Canoga Park, Calif. 11643 9-15-0 270 11913 1,150
18Tommy Tuttle, King, N.C. 11564 11-12-1 345 11909 1,100
19Mickey Higham, Kansas City, Mo. 11538 11-13-0 330 11868 1,050
20Palmer Fallgren, Sacramento, Calif. 11459 10-14-0 300 11759 1,000
21Ernie Schlegel, Newburgh, N.Y. 11481 9-15-0 270 11751 950
22Curt Schmidt, Ft. Wayne, Ind. 11503 8-16-0 240 11743 900
23Jimmy McHugh, Newark, N.J. 11345 8-16-0 240 11585 850
24George Pappas, Charlotte, N.C. 11314 5-18-1 165 11479 800


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
#*25Dave Paulin, Indianapolis, Ind.6577$775
26Skee Foremsky, Houston, Texas6576650
27Wayne Zahn, Tempe, Ariz.6574600
28Ray Bluth, St. Louis, Mo.6572565
29Jack Getzen, Lansing, Mich.6562535
30Nelson Burton Jr., St. Louis, Mo.6556510
31Carmen Salvino, Chicago, Ill.6555490
32Larry Laub, San Francisco, Calif.6652485
33Bill Beach, Sharon, Pa.6550477.50
 Larry Lichstein, Windsor Locks, Conn.6550477.50
35Don Helling, St. Louis, Mo.6545470
36Johnny Petraglia, Brooklyn, N.Y.6644465
37Bob Collatos, Santa Monica, Calif.6636460
38Dick Ritger, Hartford, Wis.6534455
39Mike McGrath, El Cerrito, Calif.6522450
40Rod Rodriguez, EI Paso, Texas6509446
41Mike Brady, E. Paterson, N.J.6496440
42Jimmy Carman, Houston, Texas6495435
43Lou Scalia, Hollywood, Fla.6488430
44Dick Battista, Astoria, N.Y.6487425
45Alex Seymore, Kannapolis, N.C.6481420
46Rich Bennett, Owego, N.Y.6479415
47Max Jensen, Lincoln, Neb.6475410
48Tye Critchlow, Los Angeles, Calif.6471405
49Earl Ratliff, St. Petersburg, Fla.6459400
50Steve Hobelmann, St. Petersburg, Fla.6454395
51Don Johnson, Akron, Ohio6450390
52Mike Orlovsky, Endicott, N.Y.6448385
53Larry Montgomery, Akron, Ohio6447380
54Bill Wallets, N. Olmsted, Ohio6445375
55Don Glover, South Bend, Ind.6441370
56Jim Stefanich, Joliet, Ill.6428365
57Ed Bourdase, Fresno, Calif.6426360
58Wayne Sheridan, Richmond, Va.6421355
59Al Thompson, Cleveland, Ohio6420350
60Allie Clarke, Akron, Ohio6417345
61Danny Sheranko, Houston, Texas6412340
62Bob Shank, Lorain, Ohio6396335
63Bill Tucker, Detroit, Mich.6378330
64Ken Uban, Dallas, Texas6330325

*Alternate. #Lost rolloff with Jimmy McHugh for 24th position, 221-214. PRO-AM CASHERS ($50)-Dick Weber, Mike Orlovsky, Ed Bourdase, Gary Dickinson, Wayne Zahn, Ralph Engan.