Ducat's Imperial Lanes, Toledo, OH, Feb 16-21, 1998

Weber Wins Second PBA National Championship

Pete Weber has always been known as one of the most emotional and flamboyant players on the PBA Tour and it was never more evident than at Ducat's Imperial Lanes.

The exuberant former PBA Rookie of the Year from St. Ann, Mo., let it all hang out as he defeated David Ozio, 277-236, in the title match of the PBA National Championship. The win was the 24th of Weber's career and earned him $28,000. It also marked the second time Weber has won the PBA National Championship (1989).

"Now I just need to win the (Brunswick World) Tournament of Champions again and I'll have my second Triple Crown," said Weber, who also owns a pair of BPAA U.S. Open wins (1988 and 1990) and a Tournament of Champions (1987). The Triple Crown consists of the PBA National Championship, the BPAA U.S. Open and the Brunswick World Tournament of Champions.

The title match was a memorable one as Weber and Ozio put on a show for the fans at Ducat's Imperial Lanes and the ESPN audience. Ozio, who was coming off a 270-235 win over Tom Baker in the semifinal match, started with the first four strikes before converting a solid 9-pin for a spare in frame five. He struck in the sixth, then converted another single-pin spare in the seventh before striking in frames eight and nine.

However, Ozio's performance would be for not as Weber converted the 2-4-5 combination in frame one and then proceeded to reel off the next nine strikes in a row, pumping his fists and exhorting the crowd the entire time. Ozio's spare and strike in frame 10 proved meaningless as he settled for the second-place check worth $14,500.

"I threw nine great shots and then sat on the bench and watched him close me out," said Ozio, who was making his first TV appearance since September of 1996. "I have to be pleased with my performance today. Nobody works harder at this game than I do and a lot of people have kept their faith in me. Now it's time for me to have some faith in myself."

Weber's victory came in just his second event of the year. He sat out the first three events due to a suspension which resulted from comments made to the press concerning lane conditions after he finished second at the Ebonite Challenge in Windsor Locks, Conn., in 1997.


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
1Pete Weber, St. Ann, MO277 (1 game)$28,000
2David Ozio, Vidor, TX506 (2 games)14,500
3Tom Baker, Buffalo, NY473 (2 games)7,500
4Mike Aulby, Indianapolis488 (2 games)6,000
5Jim Johnson Jr., Tampa, FL201 (1 game)5,000

PLAYOFF RESULTS-Aulby defeated Johnson, 280-201; Baker defeated Aulby, 238-208; Ozio defeated Baker,270-235; and in the championship game, Weber defeated Ozio, 277-236.


 Name, CityPinsAvg  WLT+TotAmt
1Pete Weber, St. Ann, MO 12565 224.4 14-10-0 420 12985 
2David Ozio, Vidor, TX 12447 222.3 16-8-0 480 12927 
3Tom Baker, Buffalo, NY 12371 220.9 17-6-1 525 12896 
#4Mike Aulby, Indianapolis 12460 222.5 12-12-0 360 12820 
5Jim Johnson Jr., Tampa, FL 12263 218.9 18-6-0 540 12803 
6Dale Eagle, Lewisville, TX 12269 219.1 14-9-1 435 12704 $4,400
7Brian Voss, Atlanta 12235 218.5 15-9-0 450 12685 4,000
8Walter Ray Williams Jr., Stockton, CA 12305 219.7 12-11-1 375 12680 3,700
9Ernie Schlegel, Vancouver, WA 12235 218.5 14-9-1 435 12670 3,500
10Michael Haugen Jr., Pasadena, CA 12263 218.9 11-12-1 345 12608 3,300
11Tim Criss, Bel Air, MD 12278 219.2 8-15-1 255 12533 3,100
12Chris Warren, Rockwall, TX 12240 218.6 8-16-0 240 12480 2,900
13Mike Durbin, Chagrin Falls, OH 12137 216.7 10-14-0 300 12437 2,700
14Jeff Morin, Rockaway, NJ 12007 214.4 14-10-0 420 12427 2,500
15Bryon Smith, Sutherlin, OR 12049 215.2 10-14-0 300 12349 2,400
16Roger Bowker, Ocala, FL 11985 214.0 12-12-0 360 12345 2,300
17John Mazza, Shelby Township, MI 11965 213.7 12-11-1 375 12340 2,200
18Brad Snell, Itasca, IL 11940 213.2 13-11-0 390 12330 2,100
19Harry Sullins, Chesterfield Twp., MI 12023 214.7 10-14-0 300 12323 2,000
#20Doug Kent, Canandaigua, NY 12015 214.5 9-15-0 270 12285 1,900
21Brian LeClair, Chatham, NY 11892 212.4 11-13-0 330 12222 1,800
22C.K. Moore, Chehalis, WA 11909 212.7 10-14-0 300 12209 1,700
23Anthony Lombardo, Lowellville, OH 11825 211.2 8-15-1 255 12080 1,600
24Steve Hoskins, Tarpon Springs, FL 11694 208.8 6-18-0 180 11874 1,500


Pos.Name, City/StateAmount
25John Gant, Winston-Salem, NC$1,250
*26Kent Burgan, Cynthiana, KY1,320
27Butch Soper, Lake Havasu City, AZ1,160
28Curtis Odom, Coldwater, MI1,120
 Dale Traber, Cedarburg, WI1,120
30Darren Wong, San Jose, CA1,100
31John Bauerle Jr., Indianapolis1,090
32Jason Couch, Clermont, FL1,080
33Dave Wodka, Las Vegas1,070
34David Traber, Woodstock, IL1,060
35Lee Vanderhoef, Baltimore1,050
36Don Moser, Murrieta, CA1,040
37Brian Ziesig, Levittown, NY1,030
38Bill Oakes, Lawton, OK1,020
39Eric Forkel, Tucson, AZ1,010
40Brian Himmler, Cincinnati1,000
41Mark Williams, Beaumont, TX990
42Don Genalo, Perrysburg, OH980
43Mike Edwards, Oklahoma City970
44Danny Wiseman, Baltimore960
45Don Sylvia, Vero Beach, FL950
46Mitchell Beasley, Jacksonville, AR940
47Jess Stayrook, Tempe, AZ930
48Rohn Morton, Vancouver, WA920
49Steve Wilson, Lake Worth, FL910
50Norm Duke, Clermont, FL900

*-Match play alternate. 32-game qualifying leader-Mike Aulby, 7257. 24th place-C.K. Moore, 6826. 50th place-Norm Duke, 6604. #-Mike Aulby, Norm Titus, Jerry Kwiatkowski, Jeff Leaphart and Doug Kent rolled 300 games ($100 each). PRO-AM CASHERS-Mike Edwards, Brian Himmler, Jimmy Davis, Brian Eaton, Mike Aulby, Rick Steelsmith, Jeff Zaffino, Eric Forkel, Norm Titus and Kent Burgan ($50 each).