Ducat's Imperial Lanes, Toledo, Ohio, Feb 19-25, 1995

Alexander Proves To Be The "Great" With PBA National Championship Win

First-time TV finalist Scott Alexander proved himself worthy of the tag, "Alexander the Great," following his 246-210 victory against fifth-seeded Wayne Webb in claiming the $200,000 Chevrolet PBA National Championship at Toledo, Ohio.

Top-seeded, Alexander, Seattle, impressed the Ducat's Imperial Lanes audience, obviously partial toward PBA Hall of Famer Wayne Webb, and won the large gallery's favor with poise. In addition to the $35,000 first prize and new 1995 Chevrolet Lumina (valued at $17,000), Alexander earned a three-year berth into the Brunswick World Tournament of Champions.

Webb, Canandaigua, N.Y., started the championship game with a double, but Alexander proved he was not easily intimidated and began with a turkey of his own. The two then matched spares for two frames and when Webb tossed a triple starting in the sixth, Alexander answered one better with a four-bagger to clinch his first PBA title.

Webb earned $18,000 as runnerup, but was frustrated in his quest for an 18th PBA title since last winning in 1989.

Alexander became the ninth first-time PBA champion crowned at Ducat's Imperial Lanes, and Toledo again proved to be the site of Alexander's greatest bowling successes. He also finished third in the 1991 ABC Bud Light Masters here in the "Glass City," worth $21,000.

"I didn't know what to expect, so I was just glad not to lose it out there," Alexander said. "I fully expected Wayne to strike on every shot. My wife (Cindy) said this truly was a dream come true-beating a superstar for the National Championship. The key for me was staying in focus."

The ABC-TV telecast began with Webb topping 1992 Rookie of the Year Jason Couch, Clermont, Fla., 235-25, then local favorite Don Genalo, Perrysburg, Ohio, 248-215, and two-time National Champion Mike Aulby, 255-215.

Aulby, Indianapolis, earned $10,000 for third place, part-time player Genalo added $8,000 for his week's work and fourth place, and Couch collected $6,500.


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
1Scott Alexander, Seattle246 (1 game)$35,000
2Wayne Webb, Canandaigua, NY948 (4 games)18,000
3Mike Aulby, Indianapolis215 (1 game)10,000
4Don Genalo, Perrysburg, OH215 (1 game)8,000
5Jason Couch, Clermont, FL225 (1 game)6,500

PLAYOFF RESULTS-Webb defeated Couch, 235-225; Webb defeated Genalo, 248-215; Webb defeated Aulby, 255-215; and in the championship game, Alexander defeated Webb, 246-210. -In addition to prize money, Alexander received a 1995 Chevrolet Lumina.


 Name, CityPinsAvg  WLT+TotAmt
#1Scott Alexander, Seattle 12868 229.8 16-8-0 480 13348 
#2Mike Aulby, Indianapolis 13024 232.6 10-14-0 300 13324 
3Don Genalo, Perrysburg, OH 12807 228.7 15-9-0 450 13257 
4Jason Couch, Clermont, FL 12774 228.1 16-8-0 480 13254 
5Wayne Webb, Canandaigua, NY 12806 228.7 14-10-0 420 13226 
#6Dale Traber, Cedarburg, WI 12766 227.9 14-8-2 450 13216 $5,500
#7Dennis Horan, San Diego 12777 228.2 13-11-0 390 13167 5,000
8John Mazza, Shelby Township, MI 12651 225.9 17-7-0 510 13161 4,500
9Walter Ray Williams Jr., Stockton, CA 12819 228.9 10-13-1 315 13134 4,000
10Roger Bowker, Ocala, FL 12745 227.6 12-12-0 360 13105 3,600
11Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela 12680 226.4 14-10-0 420 13100 3,300
12Martin Letscher, Bel Air, MD 12676 226.4 14-10-0 420 13096 3,000
#13Butch Soper, Lake Havasu City, AZ 12724 227.2 11-13-0 330 13054 2,800
14Mark Williams, Beaumont, TX 12613 225.2 13-11-0 390 13003 2,600
15Mike Taylor, San Diego 12516 223.5 11-13-0 330 12846 2,500
16Brad Snell, Itasca, IL 12513 223.4 71-13-0 330 12843 2,400
17Dave D'Entremont, Middleburg Hts., OH 12536 223.7 9-15-0 270 12806 2,300
18John Woessner, Euless, TX 12457 222.4 11-12-1 345 12802 2,200
19Mark Roth, Wall Township, NJ 12496 223.1 9-15-0 270 12766 2,100
20Bill Oakes, Lawton, OK 12391 221.3 12-12-0 360 12751 2,000
#21Eric Forkel, Chatsworth, CA 12498 223.2 8-16-0 240 12738 1,900
22Tommy Evans, Sunrise, FL 12422 221.8 9-15-0 270 12692 1,850
23Charlie Standish, Kalamazoo, MI 12350 220.5 11-13-0 330 12680 1,800
24Doug Kent, Canandaigua, NY 12175 217.4 6-18-0 180 12355 1,750


Pos.Name, City/StateAmount
25Adam Apo, Florissant, MO$1,500
*Larry Oxendine, Joplin, MO1,620
27Dave Arnold, Gilbert, AZ1,440
28Norm Duke, Edmond, OK1,410
29Michael Karch, Tacoma, WA1,380
#30Bryan Goebel, Merriam, KS1,350
#31Kevin McGerr, Lincoln, NE1,320
32Bob Benoit, Topeka, KS1,300
33Joe Firpo, Lake Worth, FL1,280
34Brian Voss, Atlanta1,260
35Len Blakey, Tacoma, WA1,240
36Parker Bohn III, Jackson, NJ1,230
37Mike Edwards, Oklahoma City1,220
38Bill Swanson, Palatine, IL1,210
39Pete Argo, Peoria, IL1,200
40Dave Ferraro, Kingston, NY1,190
41David Traber, Woodstock, IL1,180
42Curtis Odom, Winston-Salem, NC1,170
43Andrew Neuer, Milton, PA1,155
 Ron Papp, Bordentown, NJ1,155
45Jimmy Keeth, W. Palm Beach, FL1,140
46Ed Richardson, Corpus Christi, TX1,125
 Rick Steelsmith, Wichita, KS1,125
48Billy Myers Jr., Temple City, CA1,110
49Marshall Holman, Medford, OR1,100
50Steven Sonnen, Oak Creek, WI1,090
51Stoney Baker, Alpharetta, GA1,080
52Steve Jaros, Bolingbrook, IL1,070
53Kevin Taber, Toledo, OH1,060
54Chris Warren, Dallas1,050
55Larry Verble, Novi, MI1,040
56Tim Weisbrod, Cincinnati1,030
57Del Ballard Jr., Richardson, TX1,020

*-Match play alternate. 32-game qualifying leader-Mike Aulby, 7329. 24th place--Charlie Standish, 7123. 57th place-Del Ballard Jr., 6804. #-Scott Alexander, Mike Aulby, John Beasley, Eric Forkel, Kevin McGerr, Ed Richardson, Butch Soper, Dale Traber, Bryan Goebel (2) and Dennis Horan rolled 300 games ($100 each). PRO-AM CASHERS-Rick Berry, Kirk von Krueger, Bob Spaulding, Ted Hannahs, Dave Ferraro, Joe Firpo, Ron Palombi Jr., Roger Bowker, Greg Look, John Donovan, Gary Schluchter, Steve Jaros, Marty Letscher, Tim Weisbrod, Bill Oakes, Dave Traber, Dave Wodka, Curtis Odom, Bryan Goebel, Bob Vespi, Mike Aulby, Tommy Delutz, Dale Traber, Tim Criss, Dave D'Entremont, George Branham III, Doug Kent, Amleto Monacelli and Harry Sullins ($50 each; Monacelli and Sullins received $25 each).