Hollywood Bowl, Portland, OR, Jul 1-5, 1994

D'Entremont Delights Oregon Crowd

Dave D'Entremont saved his best game for last in winning the Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) Oregon Open at Hollywood Bowl, Hollywood, Fla.

D'Entremont, the fourth-seeded bowler, won his second PBA title and his first since 1992 in defeating Joe Firpo, 235-214, for the $16,000 first prize and a return trip to the Tournament of Champions.

D'Entremont made quality, clutch shots when he needed them during the championship round finals televised by ESPN. D'Entremont seemed to have an edge in each game as he faced a new opponent who was trying to figure out the tough tans conditions. Each of D'Entremont opponents appeared to struggle early and got lined up too late in the game to keep pace with D'Entremont.

In the opening game, D'Entremont struck six consecutive times into the 10th frame, forcing Chris Warren, Dallas, to strike three times in the final frame for any chance of victory. Warren left a 10-pin on his first delivery for a D'Entremont win, 227-195.

D'Entremont next faced Norm Duke, Edmond, Okla., the leading candidate for IOF/PBA Player of the Year. Duke, suffering from a toe injury on his pivot foot (right), struggled M the opening five frames against the eventual champion. Although Duke found the line in the latter frames, D'Entremont struck on six of his last seven shots to win,199-175.

In the semifinal game, D'Entremont went head-to-head with David Ozio, Vidor, Texas, a 10-time PBA titlist and one of the great shot-makers on the PBA Tour. After missing a 10-pin in his sixth frame, Ozio struck on five of his last six shots, but D'Entremont was equal In winning, 203-187.

The championship game was much of the same with Firpo, Lake Worth, Fla., opening in two of his first four frames. At that point D'Entremont was leading by 31 pins and was beginning a stretch of five consecutive strikes. Firpo struck on his last five shots, but D'Entremont was home free with a 235-214 win.


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
1Dave D'Entremont, Middleburg Heights, OH864 (4 games)$16,000
2Joe Firpo, Lake Worth, FL214 (1 game)8,500
3David Ozio, Vidor, TX187 (1 game)5,000
4Norm Duke, Edmond, OK175 (1 game)4,000
5Chris Warren, Dallas195 (1 game)3,000

PLAYOFF RESULTS-D'Entremont defeated Warren, 227-195; D'Entremont defeated Duke, 199-175; D'Entremont defeated Ozio, 203-187; and in the championship game, D'Entremont defeated Firpo, 235-214.


 Name, CityPinsAvg  WLT+TotAmt
1Joe Firpo, Lake Worth, FL 9053 215.6 14-10-0 420 9473 
2David Ozio, Vidor, TX 8919 212.4 15-9-0 450 9369 
3Norm Duke, Edmond, OK 8883 211.5 15-9-0 450 9333 
4Dave D'Entremont, Middleburg Hts., OH 8921 212.4 13-11-0 390 9311 
5Chris Warren, Dallas 8896 211.8 13-11-0 390 9286 
6W.R. Williams Jr., Stockton, CA 8766 208.7 14-9-1 435 9201 $2,600
7Dave Arnold, Gilbert, AZ 8884 211.5 10-14-0 300 9184 2,400
8Steve Hoskins, Tarpon Springs, FL 8749 208.3 14-10-0 420 9169 2,200
9Dave Wodka, Las Vegas 8709 207.4 15-9-0 450 9159 2,000
10Bob Learn Jr., Erie, PA 8766 208.7 13-11-0 390 9156 1,800
11Brian Voss, Atlanta 8794 209.4 12-12-0 360 9154 1,600
12Dennis Jacques, Monmouth Jct., NJ 8867 211.1 9-14-1 285 9152 1,400
13Butch Soper, Lake Havasu City, AZ 8756 208.5 11-11-2 360 9116 1,300
14Danny Wiseman, Portland, OR 8634 205.6 16-8-0 480 9114 1,200
15Bob Benoit, Topeka, KS 8809 209.5 10-14-0 300 9109 1,100
16Mike Edwards, Oklahoma City, OK 8700 207.1 13-11-0 390 9090 1,075
17Eric Forkel, Chatsworth, CA 8757 208.5 9-15-0 270 9027 1,050
&18Pete Maybank II, Cheboygan, MI 8571 204.1 14-10-0 420 8991 865
19Marc McDowell, Madison, WI 8662 206.2 9-14-1 285 8947 1,000
20Marty Trendel, Elgin, IL 8476 201.8 11-12-1 345 8821 980
21Joe Barket, Morro Bay, CA 8577 204.2 8-16-0 240 8817 960
22Billy Orlikowski, Grand Rapids, MI 8489 202.1 9-14-1 285 8774 940
23Tony Ament, Hackensack, NJ 8436 200.9 8-15-1 255 8691 920
24Billy Yinger, Grand Prairie, TX 8412 200.3 9-15-0 270 8682 900


Pos.Name, City/StateAmount
&25Justin Hromek, Andover, KS$865
*26Jay Burgess, Houston793
 Brian Davis, Casselberry, FL673
28Kelly Coffman, Topeka, KS650
29Mark Williams, Beaumont, TX640
30Rick Steelsmith, Wichita, KS635
31Marshall Holman, Medford, OR628
 Mike Miller, Albuquerque, NM628
33Don Moser, San Jose, CA620
34Dennis Horan, San Diego, CA615
35Dave Blevins, Colbert, WA610
36Steve Wilson, Ft. Lauderdale, FL605
37Paul Koehler, Stuart, FL600
38Ricky Ward, N. Fort Myers, FL595
39Parker Bohn III, Jackson, NJ590
40Doug Wallace, Portland, OR585
41Wayne Webb, Canandaigua, NY580
42Randy Pedersen, Hollywood, FL575
43Del Ballard Jr., Richardson, TX570
44Gary Yamasaki, Portland, OR565
45Bruce Hamilton, Seattle, WA560
46Greg Thomas, Old Town, ID555
47Robert Lawrence, Austin, TX548
@Gary Wark, Kelso, WA548
49Ernie Schlegel, Vancouver, WA540
50Doug Kent, Canandaigua, NY535
51Len Blakey, Tacoma, WA530
52Bob Markiewicz, San Diego, CA525
53Bob Rowland, Tacoma, WA520

*-Match play alternate. 18-garne qualifying leader-Bob Benoit, 4002. 24th place--David Ozio, 3742. 53rd place--Bob Rowland, 3643. Mike Shady and Rich Abboud rolled 300 games ($500 each). &-Justin Hromek withdrew after qualifying and was replaced by Pete Maybank, who was penalized 40 pins, the difference between their qualifying totals. PRO-AM CASHERS-Ed Richardson, Paul Koehler, Dennis Bailey, Pete Weber, Greg Lindemann, Jeff Lizzi, Dave Husted, Steve Hoskins, Butch Soper, Kelly Coffman, Don Moser, Joe Barket, Tommy Delutz, Kurt Bognor, Ernie Schlegel, Rick Steelsmith, Mark Turney, Bryon Smith, Eugene McCune, Kirk von Krueger and Dave Traber ($50 each). @-Non-PBA member.