Ducat's Imperial Lanes, Toledo, OH, Feb 27-Mar 5, 1994

Traber Wins; Petraglia Is Perfect

David Traber was happy to let PBA Hall of Famer Johnny Petraglia steal the spotlight, because Traber now is a champion, and a "major" one at that, after winning the $175,000 PBA National Championship at Ducat's Imperial Lanes in Toledo, Ohio. Leading qualifier Traber, Woodstock, Ill., defeated his second-seeded brother Dale, Cedarburg, Wis., 196-187, for the $27,000 first prize, a three-year berth into the Brunswick World Tournament of Champions and, more importantly, the traditional winner's blazer. The match also marked the first time in PBA tournament history brothers had faced each other in the championship finals.

Prior to the title match, the center still was buzzing from Petraglia's earlier heroics, despite the 47-year-old (his birthday was two days earlier) having been nipped in the semifinal game by the elder Traber (Dale is 36 and David 31 years old), 193-188.

Petraglia added to his legend in the second game of the afternoon when he became the seventh player in PBA national tournament history to notch a perfect game. The fifth-seeded lefthander from Manalapan, N.J., ousted reigning PBA Player of the Year and fellow 14-time champ Walter Ray Williams Jr., 300-194, to the thunderous approval of those in attendance.

Cut back to the final game. The brothers Traber both spared in the first frame and David failed to convert the 4-10 split in his second frame, only to answer with a double. Dale opened in his fifth frame and then again in the eighth, but struck out to force his brother to mark in order to earn his first title in nine years on tour. David was equal to the task and burst into tears after striking on his first shot in the 10th frame. Runnerup Dale, a 15-time PBA regional champ, collected the $14,000 second-place check for his first TV appearance.

The ABC Sports' telecast began with Petraglia defeating 1992 PBA National champ Eric Forkel of Chatsworth, Calif., 237-181. Forkel earned $5,000 for fifth place.


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
1David Traber, Woodstock, IL196 (1 game)$27,000
2Dale Traber, Cedarburg, WI380 (2 games)14,000
#3Johnny Petraglia, Manalapan, NJ725 (3 games)8,000
4Walter Ray Williams Jr., Stockton, CA194 (1 game)6,000
5Eric Forkel, Chatsworth, CA181 (1 game)5,000

PLAYOFF RESULTS-Petraglia defeated Forkel, 237-181; Petraglia defeated Williams, 300-194; Dale Traber defeated Petraglia, 193-188; and in the championship game, David Traber defeated Dale Traber, 196-187. #-Petraglia receives $100,000 bonus from True Value for televised 300 game.


 Name, CityPinsAvg  WLT+TotAmt
#1David Traber, Woodstock, IL 13357 238.5 14-10-0 420 13777 
2Dale Traber, Cedarburg, WI 13083 233.6 17-6-1 535 13608 
3Walter Ray Williams Jr., Stockton, CA 13078 233.5 16-8-0 480 13558 
#4Eric Forkel, Chatsworth, CA 13030 232.7 17-7-0 510 13540 
5Johnny Petraglia, Manalapan, NJ 13012 232.4 13-11-0 390 13402 
6Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela 12839 229.3 17-7-0 510 13349 $4,500
#7Dave D'Entremont, Middleburg Hts., OH 12952 231.3 12-12-0 360 13312 4,000
8John Mazza, Shelby Township, MI 12840 229.3 13-11-0 390 13230 3,600
9Hugh Miller, Seattle 12923 230.8 10-14-0 300 13223 3,300
#10Mike Aulby, Indianapolis 12862 229.7 11-12-1 345 13207 3,000
11Bryan Goebel, Merriam, KS 12737 227.5 14-10-0 420 13157 2,800
12Ken Muscato, Canandaigua, NY 12711 227.0 13-11-0 390 13101 2,600
13Brad Snell, Elk Grove, IL 12750 227.7 11-13-0 330 13080 2,500
14Jason Couch, Clermont, FL 12652 225.9 14-10-0 420 13072 2,400
15Mike Shady, Ripon, WI 12651 225.9 13-10-1 405 13056 2,300
16Don Moser, San Jose, CA 12623 223.4 12-12-0 360 12983 2,200
17Ricky Ward, North Fort Myers, FL 12638 225.6 11-13-0 330 12968 2,100
#18Parker Bohn III, Freehold, NJ 12676 226.4 9-15-0 270 12946 2,000
19Ted Hannahs, Zanesville, OH 12635 225.6 9-15-0 270 12905 1,900
20Jess Stayrook, Tempe, AZ 12420 221.8 11-13-0 330 12750 1,800
21Mike Edwards, Oklahoma City 12485 223.0 8-16-0 240 12725 1,700
22Bob Spaulding, Mechanicsburg, PA 12287 219.4 11-13-0 330 12617 1,650
#23Joe Firpo, Lake Worth, FL 12337 220.3 4-19-1 135 12472 1,600
24Steve Hoskins, Tarpon Springs, FL 12082 215.8 6-18-0 180 12262 1,550


Pos.Name, City/StateAmount
*25Dave Husted, Milwaukie, OR$1,500
26Derek Williams, Groves, TX1,340
27Martin Letscher, Bel Air, MD1,300
28Bob Learn Jr., Erie, PA1,310
29Gene Stus, Allen Park, MI1,230
30Dave Ferraro, Kingston, NY1,200
31Mike Miller, Albuquerque, NM1,180
32Emilio Mora Jr., Toledo, OH1,160
33Del Ballard Jr., Richardson, TX1,140
#34Gary Dickinson, Edmond, OK1,120
35Steve Jaros, Bolingbrook, IL1,100
36Dave Arnold, Gilbert, AZ1,085
 Paul Koehler, Stuart, FL1,085
38Brian Voss, Atlanta1,070
39Pete Weber, St. Ann, MO1,060
40Dennis Horan, San Diego1,050
#41Justin Hromek, Andover, KS1,035
 Jeff Lizzi, Sandusky, OH1,035
43David Ozio, Vidor, TX1,020
44Mark Bower, Wilmington, DE1,010
45Steve Wilson, Ft. Lauderdale, FL1,000
46Randy Pedersen, Hollywood, FL990
47Billy Orlikowski, Grand Rapids, MI975
 Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, TX975
49Eugene McCune, Munster, IN960
50Robert Lawrence, Austin, TX950
51Mark Williams, Beaumont, TX940
52George Branham III, Indianapolis930
53Ron Williams, Fort Worth, TX920
54Todd Minotti, Orlando, FL910
55Jimmy Johnson, Columbus, OH895
#Ron Palombi Jr., Erie, PA895
57Steve Fields, Stockton, CA880
58Doug Kent, Canandaigua, NY870
#59Ty Lewis, Los Angeles860
60Bob Vespi, Coral Springs, FL850
61Keith Nichols, Steubenville, OH840
62Jeff Bellinger, Columbia, SC830
63Jimmy Keeth, West Palm Beach, FL825

*-Match play alternate. 32-game qualifying leader-Dave D'Entremont, 7469. 24th placeless Stayrook, 7229. 63rd place--Jimmy Keeth, 6866. PRO-AM CASHERS-Dave Ferraro, Joe Barket, Bob Vespi, Nelson Burton Jr., Tony Ament, Walter Ray Williams Jr., David Carter, Bill Oakes, Ron Palombi Jr., Bob Learn Jr., Kirk von Krueger, Joe Firpo, Tommy Delutz Jr., John Losito, Bob Benoit ($50 each) and Gary Schluchter and Ty Lewis ($25 each). #-Gary Dickinson, Dave D'Entremont, Parker Bohn III, Terry Rohrer, Brian LeClair, Kevin McGerr, Larry Verble, Ron Palombi Jr., Dave Wodka, Bruce Hamilton, Steve Rogers, Joe Firpo, Dave Traber (2), Justin Hromek, Mike Aulby and Ty Lewis ($100 each).