Imperial Lanes, Toledo, Ohio, Feb 21-27, 1993

Ron Palombi Jr. Owns 2/3 Of "Triple Crown"

Ron Palombi Jr. earned his sixth PBA title, but needs just one more "major" following his triumph in the $300,000 Bud Light PBA National Championship to complete professional bowling's "Triple Crown." Leading qualifier Palombi, Erie, Pa., defeated thirdseeded Eugene McCune of Munster, Ind., 237-224, for the $55,000 first prize at Ducat's Imperial Lanes.

Palombi could not sustain his momentum in the King of the Hill game immediately following however, and Ron Williams continued his reign as "King" via his 185-179 survival victory. Williams now has dispatched Erie's two favorite PBA champs (Bob Learn Jr. and Palombi) on successive weeks.

In the championship game, Palombi started with a spare and four in a row, while McCune spared, struck, spared again, and then tacked on his own four-bagger to lead by one pin after seven frames. Palombi then doubled and McCune sealed his fate when he failed to convert the 2-4-5 in his ninth frame. Ironically, Palombi hadn't realized he had won and when he finally did, burst into tears as he embraced his parents.

In the King of the Hill game, neither player was sharp, but Williams looked especially flat when he opened in both his third and fifth frames. Palombi also opened in his fifth, but couldn't put Williams away and when he failed to convert the 2-4-10 split in the 10th frame, Williams was a winner again for the seventh time in eight appearances in 1993.

The first "jewel" of the "Triple Crown" opened with McCune bombing fourth-seeded Adam Apo of Honolulu, Hawaii, 245-214. McCune then benefited by a critical mistake by Philip Ringener in the semifinal game. Ringener, Big Spring, Texas, needed just a spare to advance for the opportunity to gain his first PBA title but dumped his first shot in the loth frame into the right-hand channel and fell, 215-204.


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
1Ron Palombi Jr., Erie, PA237 (1 game)$55,000
2Eugene McCune, Munster IN684 (3 games)28,000
3Philip Ringener, Big Spring, TX204 (1 game)15,000
4Adam Apo, Honolulu, HI214 (1 game)10,000

PLAYOFF RESULTS-McCune defeated Apo, 245-214; McCune defeated Ringener, 215-204; and in the championship game, Palombi defeated McCune, 237-224. KING OF THE HILL-Ron Williams, Fort Worth, Texas, defeated Ron Palombi Jr., 185-179, for $5,000.


 Name, CityPinsAvg  WLT+TotAmt
#1Ron Palombi Jr., Erie, PA 13063 233.3 17-7-0 510 13573 
#2Philip Ringener, Big Spring, TX 13002 232.2 14-0-1 435 13437 
#3Eugene McCune, Munster, IN 12932 230.9 11-13-0 330 13262 
4Adam Apo, Honolulu, HI 12936 231.0 9-14-1 285 13221 
5Brian Voss, Boca Raton, FL 12785 228.3 14-9-1 435 13220 $8,000
#6Pete Weber, Florissant, MO 12716 227.1 16-8-0 480 13196 7,000
7Dave Husted, Milwaukie, OR 12698 226.8 15-9-0 450 13148 6,000
8Stephen Hardy, Nashua, NH 12708 226.9 14-10-0 420 13128 5,500
9Walter Ray Williams Jr., Stockton, CA 12682 226.5 12-12-0 360 13042 5,000
#10Randy Pedersen, Hollywood, FL 12579 224.6 15-9-0 450 13029 4,600
11Jeff Morin, Rockaway, NJ 12638 225.7 13-11-0 390 13028 4,300
12Jason Couch, Winter Garden, FL 12603 226.1 12-12-0 360 12963 4,000
13Nelson Burton Jr., St. Louis, MO 12519 223.6 14-10-0 420 12939 3,700
#14Pete McCordic, Katy, TX 12545 224.0 11-12-1 345 12890 3,400
15Gary Dickinson, Edmond, OK 12521 223.6 11-13-0 330 12851 3,300
16Derek Williams, Groves, TX 12430 222.0 12-12-0 360 12790 3,200
17Mark Turney, Corpus Christi, TX 12471 222.7 10-13-1 315 12786 3,100
18Danny Broadway, Houston 12478 222.8 10-14-0 300 12778 3,000
19Jimmy Keeth, West Palm Beach, FL 12240 218.6 12-12-0 360 12600 2,900
20Dennis Jacques, Monmouth Jet., NJ 12371 220.9 7-16-1 225 12596 2,800
21Gregory Look, High Ridge, MO 12324 220.1 9-15-0 270 12594 2,700
22Del Ballard Jr., Richardson, TX 12364 220.8 6-18-0 180 12544 2,600
23Dave Dobrzykowski, Toledo, OH 12193 217.7 9-15-0 270 12463 2,500
24Ernie Schlegel, Vancouver, WA 12117 216.4 11-13-0 330 12447 2,400


Pos.Name, City/StateAmount
*25Dale Eagle, Evansville, IN$2,220
26Billy Young, Edmond, OK2,120
27Brad Kiszewski, Buffalo, NY1,980
28Mike Miller, Albuquerque, NM1,950
29Kevin McGerr, Lincoln, NE1,920
#30Jeff Smith, Little Falls, MN1,900
37Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, TX1,880
32John Delp, West Lawn, PA1,860
33Kelly Coffman, Topeka, KS1,840
34Eric Forkel, Chatsworth, CA1,820
35Ron Williams, Fort Worth, TX1,800
36Warren Nelson, Fresno, CA1,780
37Ken Muscato, Canandaigua, NY, and Ricky Ward, N. Fort Myers, FL1,750
39Kirk von Krueger, Pensacola, FL1,720
40Gary Hancock, Chattanooga, TN1,700
41Ray Edwards, Centereach, NY1,680
42Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela1,670
43John Mazza, Mt Clemens, MI1,660
44Hugh Miller, Seattle1,650
45Tom Baker, Buffalo1,640
46Ed Richardson, Corpus Christi, TX1,630
47Gary Smith, East Peons, IL1,620
#48Kent Wagner, Palmetto, FL1,610
49Dale Strike, Saginaw, MI1,600
50Jeffrey Dreyfus, Fort Wayne, IN1,590
51Rich Abboud, Omaha, NE1,580
52Bob Learn Jr., Erie, PA1,570
53Dave Ferraro, Kingston, NY, and Butch Soper, Lake Havasu City, AZ1,555
55John Forst Salt Lake City, UT1,540
56Mike Jasnau, Fishkill, NV, and Billy Yinger. Arlington, TX1,525
58Dave Arnold, Gilbert, AZ1,510
59Jeff Handing, Frederick, MD1,500
60Dale Traber, Cedarburg, WI1,490
61Joe Baca, Dublin, CA, and Tim Criss, Bel Air, MD1,475
63Jason Cooper, Reisterstown, MD1,460
#64Brian Thyes, Green Bay, WI1,450
65Barry Zimmerman, Grand Forks, ND1,440
#66David Traber, Woodstock, IL1,430
67Scott Devers, Richmond, IN1,420
68Cherie Standish, Kalamazoo, MI1,410
69Norm Duke, Oklahoma City, OK1,400
70Bob Laster, Anaheim, CA1,390
71Edward McDonnell Jr., Sunnyvale, CA1,380
72Brian Berg, Edmond, OK1,370
73Adam Cotton, Coral Springs, FL1,360
74Michael Azcarate, Pembroke Pines, FL, and Brian Himmler, Cincinnati, OH1,345

*-Match play alternate. 32-game qualifying leader-Adam Apo, 7529. 23rd place-Jimmy Keeth and Randy Pedersen, 7180. 74th place-Michael Azcarate and Brian Himmler, 6870. #-Pete Weber (2), Jeff Smith, Kent Wagner, Bran Thyes, David Traber, Bryan Goebel, Emilio Mom, Randy Pedersen, Pete McCordic (2), Eugene McCune, Ron Palombi and Philip Ringener rolled 300 games ($100 each). PRO-AM CASHERS-Dave Dobrzykowski, Marshall Holman, Jeff Germann, Larry Stephens, Parker Bohn III, Don Moser, Tony Westlake, Mike Aulby, Mike Jasnau, Dale Eagle, Dave Traber, Tommy Delutz, Danny Wiseman, Eugene McCune, Dale Strike and Scott Alexander ($50 each).