Imperial Lanes, Toledo, Ohio, Mar 24-30, 1991

Mike Miller's 1st Tour Title A "Major" - Wins $200,000 PBA National Championship

Mike Miller emerged with his first pro title, the bragging rights of Albuquerque, N.M., and the 31st annual $200,000 PBA National Championship crown at Ducat's Imperial Lanes. Miller defeated leading qualifier Norm Duke, 218-214, for the $35,000 first prize and a three-year exemption into the Firestone Tournament of Champions.

In the championship battle of the Tour's two top Albuquerque, N.M., pros, Duke opened with a strike, spare and double to lead by 25 pins after four frames. Miller came roaring back late in the game with a string of strikes starting in his seventh frame to take the lead after nine frames. Duke then closed with three strikes in the 10th frame to force Miller to double and four-count in order to deny Duke back-to-back wins. Miller doubled and his seven-count ended a frustrating period for the man with the powerful no-thumb delivery style.

"I've learned to channel adversity from 10 years' experience on tour," Miller said. "I'm not sure what to feel right now I've worked so hard for this. I just got married and now I get to take my new bride to the Firestone. I don't think I've peaked yet - I've only been using this delivery style for seven months."

This was Miller's third appearance in the championship round and, ironically; all have come in 56-game "national championship" formats (the 1990 Budweiser Touring Players Championship and this year's Showboat Invitational were the other two). This tournament was the first "jewel" of professional bowling's "Triple Crown" events (the others being the BPAA U.S. Open and Firestone Tournament of Champions).

"The key was in my tripping the 2-4 in the 9th frame," Miller continued, "which gave me the chance to win. I just wanted that chance. I've seen two impressive trophies up close from my sister's (Dana Miller-Mackie) two U.S. Open wins, but now this is my dream come true."

Duke said, "I was loose except for three shots and those were due to my lack of concentration. I had chances early on to win, but just didn't put it away. I'm very happy for Mike - he's a most deserving champion."

In the opening game of the ABC Sports-televised finals, David Ozio defeated first-time finalist Brian Brazeau, Milwaukee, Wis., 267-232. Another new face entered in the second game when non-winner Martin Letscher stopped Ozio, Vidor, Texas, 240-224. Miller then came on in the semifinal and turned back Letscher, Bel Air, Md., 232-221.


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
1Mike Miller, Albuquerque, N.M.450 (2 games)$35,000
2Norm Duke, Albuquerque, N.M.214 (1 game)18,000
3Martin Letscher, Bel Air, Md.461 (2 games)10,000
4David Ozio, Vidor, Texas491 (2 games)8,000
5Brian Brazeau, Milwaukee, Wis.232 (1 game)7,000

PLAYOFF RESULTS-Ozio defeated Brazeau, 267-232; Letscher defeated Ozio, 240-224; Miller defeated Letscher, 232-221; and in the championship game, Miller defeated Duke, 218-214.


 Name, CityPinsAvg  WLT+TotAmt
#1Norm Duke, Albuquerque, N.M. 12419 221.8 12-11-1 375 12794 
2Mike Miller, Albuquerque, N.M. 12423 221.8 7-15-2 240 12663 
3Martin Lutcher, Bel Air, Md. 12251 218.8 13-10-1 405 12656 
4David Ozio, Vidor, Texas 12170 217.3 15-9-0 450 12620 
#5Brian Brazeau, Milwaukee, Wis. 12124 216.5 16-8-0 480 12604 
6Mark Thayer, Lafayette, Ind. 12250 218.8 11-13-0 330 12580 $6,000
7Marshall Holman, Medford, Ore. 12205 218.0 11-11-2 360 12565 5,000
8Pete Weber, Florissant, Mo. 12107 216.2 15-9-0 450 12557 4,000
9Chris Warren, Dallas 12152 217.0 13-11-0 390 12542 3,500
10Walter Ray Williams Jr., Stockton, Calif. 12077 215.7 15-9-0 450 12527 3,000
11Dave Ferraro, Kingston, N.Y. 12106 216.2 12-10-2 390 12496 2,900
12Leroy Bornhop, St. Charles, Mo. 12045 215.1 15-9-0 450 12495 2,800
13Doug Kent, Canandaigua, N.Y. 12068 215.5 14-10-0 420 12488 2,700
14Raymond J. Edwards, Centereach, N.Y. 12085 215.8 13-11-0 390 12475 2,600
15Del Ballard Jr., Richardson, Texas 12110 216.3 11-12-1 345 12455 2,500
16Philip Ringener, Big Spring, Texas 12087 215.8 12-12-0 360 12447 2,400
17John Petraglia, Manalapan, N.J. 12011 214.5 13-10-1 405 12416 2,300
18John Forst, Woodridge, III. 12162 217.2 8-16-0 240 12402 2,200
19John Mazza, Mt. Clemens, Mich. 12076 215.6 10-14-0 300 12376 2,100
20Billy Young Jr., Oklahoma City, Okla. 11947 213.3 11-12-1 345 12292 2,000
21Mike Aulby, Indianapolis 11947 213.3 10-14-0 300 12247 1,900
#22Darryl Bower, Middletown, Pa. 11850 211.6 10-14-0 300 12150 1,800
23Jimmie Pritts Jr., Methuen, Mass. 11765 210.1 9-15-0 270 12035 1,750
24Joe Salvemini, Oklahoma City, Okla. 11711 209.1 6-17-1 195 11906 1,700


Pos.Name, City/StateAmount
*25Tommy Delutz Jr., Jamaica, N.Y.$1,420
26Dave Husted, Milwaukie, Ore.1,250
27Jess Stayrook, San Diego, Calif.1,200
28Parker Bohn III, Freehold, N.J.1,160
29Ryan Shafer, Elmira, N.Y.1,120
30Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind.1,110
31Wayne Webb, Beaumont, Texas1,100
32Bruce Hamilton, Seattle, Wash.1,090
33Mark Williams, Beaumont, Texas1,080
34Danny Wiseman, Baltimore, Md.1,070
35Brad Kiszewski, Buffalo, N.Y.1,060
36Ted Hannahs, Zanesville, Ohio1,050
37Mike Shady, Ripon, Wis.1,040
38Rod Pasteur, Green Bay, Wis.1,030
39Ken Muscato, Canandaigua, N.Y.1,020
40Ken Johnson, Garland, Texas1,005
 Harry Sullins, Detroit, Mich.1,005
42Steve Jaros, Naperville, Ill.990
43Pete McCordic, Katy, Texas980
44Ken Waters, Petaluma, Calif.970
45Jeff Bellinger, Columbia, S.C.960
46Tony Figuiera, Torrance, Calif.945
 Bob Learn Jr., Erie, Pa.945
48Adam Colton, N. Lauderdale, Fla.930
49Bryan Goebel, Merriam, Kan.920
50Brian Berg, Menomonie, Wis.910
51Dale Strike, Saginaw, Mich.900
52Frank Ellenburg, Chandler, Ariz.890
53Jimmy Johnson, Columbus, Ohio880
54Kelly Coffman, Topeka, Kan,870
55Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela860
56George Pappas, Charlotte, N.C.850
57Danny Guerrieri, Youngstown, Ohio840
58Mike Edwards, Tulsa, Okla.830
59Adam Apo, Honolulu, Hawaii820
60Dale Traber, Cedarburg, Wis.810
61Dennis Rakauskas, Centerville, Va.800
62Bob Benoit, Topeka, Kan.790
63Dave Arnold, Mesa, Ariz.780
64David D'Entremont, Cleveland, Ohio770
65Hugh Miller, Seattle, Wash.755
 Rowdy Morrow, St. Louis755
67Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas740
68Tony Westlake, Edmond, Okla.730
69Russ Housman, Inverness, Fla.720
70Tony Marrese, Hilton Head Island, S.C.710
71Larry Verble, South Lyon, Mich.700
72George Branham III, Indianapolis690
73Kent Wagner, Palmetto, Fla.680
74Mark Bowers, Aberdeen, Md.670
75Jeff Germann, Warren, Ohio660

*-Match play alternate. 32-game qualifying leader-Mike Miller, 7333. 24th place-Joe Salvemini, 6936. 75th place -Jeff Germann, 6560. #-Darryl Bower, Norm Duke and Brian Brazeau rolled 300 games ($100 each). PRO-AM CASHERS-Paul Ashby, Mike Aulby, George Branham III, Gary Dickinson, Mike Edwards, Bruce Hamilton, Ted Hannahs, Hugh Miller, Amleto Monacelli, Bill Oakes, Jim Pencak, Joe Salvemini, Mike Scroggins, Mike Shady and Steve Wunderlich ($50 each), Bob Benoit, Roy Buckley and Marc McDowell ($25 each).