Madison, Wis. – Brad Miller of Lee’s Summit, Mo. defeated Chris Hill of Franklin, Wis. to win the PBA Bowl-A-Vard Lanes Open. Miller was in control of the final match winning 267-188, and secured a second straight Midwest region Lindenwood alumni victory.

Miller led the seven-game qualifying with a 234 average. He continued his dominance throughout the bracket match play finals with a 4-0 record, dispatching one opponent after another. In the quarterfinal round, Miller threw a 255, 269 at Russ Oviatt’s 202, 235 for a 2-0 win. Miller then increased his 262 two-game match play average with a 275 against Kevin McCune’s 201.

Hill qualified second with a 229 average. He defeated Nick DeCesaro in the quarterfinal round with a 2-0 victory in the best of three games match. Kyle Sherman doubled in the eighth and ninth frames but left the door open when he failed to get a strike in the tenth frame. Hill then snatched the victory with a strike in the tenth and 200-181 score.

This is Miller’s fifth regional title, the first since 2018. He has two Southwest regional titles, both in Junction City, Kan. in back-to-back years of 2018 and 2019. His first Midwest regional title was in St. Charles, Mo. in 2016 and he added Omaha, Neb. in 2018. The win earned Miller $2,000 while Hill earned $1,100 as the runner-up.

Bowl-A-Vard Lanes, Madison, Wis., Sunday

Championship Round: Miller defeated Hill, 267-188.

Semifinal Round (losers earned $775 each):
Miller defeated K. McCune, 275-201.
Hill defeated Sherman, 200-181.

Round 2 (best of three games, losers eliminated and earned $650 each):
Brad Miller, Lee’s Summit, Mo., defeated Russ Oviatt 2-0.
Kevin McCune, Munster, Ind. defeated S-Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind., 2-1.
Chris Hill, Franklin, Wis., defeated Nick DeCesaro 2-0.
Kyle Sherman, O’Fallon, Mo., defeated Timothy Curran 2-1.

Top 4 qualifiers received a Round 1 bye

Round 1 (best of three games, losers eliminated and earned $550 each): S-Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind. defeated Tim Gruendler, St. Louis, Mo., 2-0.
Nick DeCesaro, Kenosha, Wis., defeated S-Chris Gibbons, Madison, Wis., 2-0.
Timothy Curran, St. Louis, Mo., defeated James Rogers, Waukegan, Ill., 2-1.

S-designates senior entry

Editor’s Note: A photo of the winner has been posted in PBA's Media Gallery