Centreville, Va. – The Portland Lumberjacks defeated the Las Vegas High Rollers to win back-to-back PBA League Elias Cup championships on Wednesday at Bowlero Centreville.

Portland successfully defended their title defeating the expansion Las Vegas franchise, 3-2, in a best-of-five championship match series.

In game one, Las Vegas took an early lead, winning 252-197, but Portland made necessary adjustments rebounding to win games two and three with scores of 278-218 and 235-210.

Las Vegas made a line-up change in game four winning 235-220 to tie up the match forcing a must win game five for the championship.

Portland’s Kris Prather sealed the win in the ninth frame with a strike to secure the team’s back-to-back win and final score of 257-197.

Wes Malott, Portland’s anchor player, won back-to-back MVP honors, making history winning the title twice in a row. Malott helped bring home the Elias Cup last year and can’t wait to defend the 2020 Elias Cup at Bayside Bowl in 2021.


PBA League Elias Cup Quarterfinal Round Results


Anthony Division Quarterfinals Match 1

L.A. X def. NYC KingPins, 2-0 (246-224, 277-237)

L.A. X advances to semifinals against Portland Lumberjacks


Anthony Division Quarterfinals Match 2

Brew City Ballers def. Miami Waves, 2-1 (234-182, 219-234, 10-6)

Brew City Ballers advance to semifinals against Motown Muscle


Carter Division Quarterfinals Match 1

Phoenix Fury def. Silver Lake Atom Splitters, 2-1 (243-214, 212-216, 10-10, 10-9)

Phoenix Fury advances to semifinals against Dallas Strikers


Carter Division Quarterfinals Match 2

Las Vegas High Rollers def. Brooklyn Styles, 2-0 (243-214, 267-248)

Las Vegas advances to semifinals against Philadelphia Hitmen


PBA League Elias Cup Semifinal Round Results


Anthony Division Semifinals Match 1

Portland Lumberjacks def. L.A.X, 2-0 (227-174, 206-193)

Portland advances to Anthony Division finals


Anthony Division Semifinals Match 2

Brew City Ballers def. Motown Muscle, 2-1 (230-269, 235-227, 10-9)

Brew City advances to Anthony Division finals


Carter Division Semifinals Match 1

Dallas Strikers def. Phoenix Fury, 2-0 (267-188, 258-239)


Carter Division Semifinals Match 2

Las Vegas High Rollers def. Philadelphia Hitmen, 2-0 (218-190, 248-182)

Las Vegas advances to Carter Division finals


PBA League Elias Cup Divisional Finals Results


Anthony Division Final

Portland Lumberjacks def. Brew City Ballers, 2-0 (247-246, 233-192)

Portland advances to Elias Cup finals


Carter Division Final

Las Vegas High Rollers def. Dallas Strikers, 2-1 (224-196, 217-225, 10-10, 10-9)

Las Vegas advances to Elias Cup finals


PBA League Elias Cup Championship Results

Best of five

Portland Lumberjacks def. Las Vegas High Rollers, 3-2 (197-252, 278-218, 235-210, 220-235, 257-197)


History of PBA League Elias Cup Champions

2013: NYC KingPins

2014: Silver Lake Atom Splitters

2015: Silver Lake Atom Splitters

2016: Dallas Strikers

2017: Dallas Strikers

2018: Silver Lake Atom Splitters

2019: Portland Lumberjacks

2020: Portland Lumberjacks


Mark Roth MVP Award Winners

2014 Chris Barnes, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

2015 Dick Allen, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

2016 Tommy Jones, Dallas Strikers

2017 Norm Duke, Dallas Strikers

2018 Chris Barnes, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

2019 Wes Malott, Portland Lumberjacks

2020 Wes Malott, Portland Lumberjacks


About the PBA

The Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) is the world’s preeminent organization dedicated to the sport of bowling and its professional competition, with thousands of members and millions of fans throughout the world. The PBA plays host to bowling’s biggest tournaments from the Go Bowling! PBA Tour, PBA Regional Tour, and PBA50 Tour. In 2019, the PBA was acquired by Bowlero Corporation, the world’s largest owner and operator of bowling entertainment centers with more than 300 locations throughout North America. For more information, please visit PBA.com

For Press Inquiries

[email protected]