PBA-WBT Thailand Field of 20 Finalists Set for Friday

by Bill Vint  |  Thursday, September 27, 9:27 AM

PBA-WBT Thailand Field of 20 Finalists Set for Friday

BANGKOK, Thailand – Japan’s Shota Kawazoe, Malaysia’s Rafiq Ismail and American Kyle Troup (from left in featured photo) are among the field of 20 men and women from around the world who will advance to Friday’s final rounds of the PBA International-WBT Thailand at Blu-O Rhythm and Bowl Paragon.

The finalists represent the top eight qualifiers from the nine-game Round One who earned byes all the way to Round Four, and 12 players who advanced from Thursday’s six-game elimination Rounds Two and Three. In the elimination rounds, all previous pinfall is dropped. In all cases, women in the tournament receive eight handicap pins per game.

In Friday’s Round Four, the 20 finalists will bowl another six games to determine the eight players who will advance to the modified stepladder finals, which will begin with a one-game shootout match for qualifiers six, seven and eight. The highest scoring player advances to another shootout match with qualifiers four and five. The leader in that match moves on. The final three matches are two-player matches, but survivor reaching the championship match has to beat the top qualifier twice to win the title.

Among the top 20 are home-country favorite Jojoe Yannaphon, the defending WBT Thailand champion, and Kyle Troup of Taylorsville, N.C., who is bidding for his second straight WBT title after winning the Storm Lucky Larsen Masters in Malmo, Sweden, on Sept. 9. PBA fans can follow the Thailand tournament online through the Asian Bowling Federation’s website: http://www.abf-online.org/results/ttbawbt18.htm.

Friday’s PBA-WTB Thailand finalists, in no particular order, are:
Anthony Simonsen, Austin, Texas;
Francois Lavoie, Canada;
Jesper Svensson, Sweden;
Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill.;
Surasak Manuwong, Thailand;
Rafiq Ismail, Malaysia;
Shota Kawazoe, Japan;
Kyle Troup, Taylorsville, N.C.;
Wu Siu Hong, Hong Kong;
Marshall Kent, Yakima, Wash.;
Jojoe Yannaphon, Thailand;
Stuart Williams, England;
Chris Via, Springfield, Ohio;
Greg Young, Viera, Fla.;
Bill O'Neill, Langhorne, Pa.;
Osku Palermaa, Finland;
Surasak Manuwong, Thailand.

Women qualifiers are:
Sin Li Jane, Malaysia;
New Hui Fen, Singapore;
Danielle McEwan, Stony Point, N.Y.;
Liz Johnson, Palatine, Ill.