Will PBA Xtra Frame Lubbock Sports Open Produce Another New PBA Tour Title Holder?

by Bill Vint  |  Wednesday, June 06, 1:38 PM

Will PBA Xtra Frame Lubbock Sports Open Produce Another New PBA Tour Title Holder?

LUBBOCK, Texas – Will the PBA Xtra Frame Lubbock Sports Open produce the fourth first-time PBA Tour title winner of 2018 when a talented field of future stars takes on a potent field of PBA Tour champions at South Plains Lanes this weekend?

That question will be answered Sunday when PBA’s online bowling channel, Xtra Frame, live-streams the stepladder finals, beginning at 4:15 p.m. CDT.

South Plains Lanes and Lubbock have a short history of catering to the PBA’s young talent. Last year, Marshall Kent, the 2014 PBA Rookie of the Year, won his first PBA singles title in the U.S. in Lubbock when he defeated 2015 Rookie of the Year EJ Tackett of Huntington, Ind., 233-194, in the title match. In 2016 in Lubbock, Jakob Butturff of Chandler, Ariz., defeated two-hander Shawn Maldonado of Houston, 207-205, to win his first PBA Tour title.

Kent won’t be back to defend his title because he’ll be attending his brother’s graduation ceremony, but Lubbock could easily see another first-time winner emerge from a talented group of young players who are trying to build Rookie of the Year resumes. Among the highly-regarded first-year PBA members entered are Kamron Doyle, Brentwood, Tenn.; Canada’s Mitch Hupé; Asian star Rafiq Ismail of Malaysia (feature photo); Russ Oviatt of Chandler, Ariz.; former Collegiate Player of the Year Nick Pate, Inver Grove Heights, Minn., and Michael Tang of San Francisco.

But standing their way will be an equally talented group of established PBA Tour title winners, including Dick Allen, Columbia, S.C.; Anderson; DJ Archer, Friendswood, Texas; Azcona; recently-inducted PBA Hall of Famer Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas; Jakob Butturff, Tempe, Ariz.; Tom Daugherty, Riverview, Fla.; 2016 PBA Rookie of the Year Francois Lavoie, Canada; Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas; Jake Peters, Henderson, Nev.; Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill.; Jason Sterner, Rockledge, Fla., and Tackett. Barnes, Malott, Rash and Tackett are all former PBA Players of the Year.

To add even more spice to the event, several Team Malaysia national team members, including the 21-year-old left-hander Ismail, Asia’s top ranked player, are entered. Ismail finished third in last week’s PBA Xtra Frame Greater Jonesboro Open in Arkansas.

The 2018 PBA Xtra Frame Tour produced another first time champion when Puerto Rico’s Cristian Azcona won the Xtra Frame Wilmington Open on May 20 in North Carolina. Last Sunday, 23-year-old Andrew Anderson of Holly, Mich., became the first two-title winner of the 2018 Go Bowling! PBA Tour season in Jonesboro. Anderson won his first title in the United States Bowling Congress Masters in April. Both are second-year PBA members, and both are bowling in Lubbock. The third first-time winner in 2018 was Thailand’s Annop Arromsaranon who won the PBA-WBT Busan Cup in Korea in late May. Arromsaranon is not entered in Lubbock.

The tournament gets underway at 8:30 a.m. Saturday with the first of two eight-game qualifying squads. The other half of the field will bowl its qualifying round at 3:30 p.m., with the top one-third of the field advancing to a six-game cashers round Sunday at 8:30 a.m. The top 16 players after 14 games will bowl an eight-game match play round at 12:15 p.m., and the top four after 22 games will compete in the stepladder finals Sunday at 4:15 p.m. All times are Central.

All of Saturday’s and Sunday’s action will be streamed live on PBA’s Xtra Frame online bowling channel. In addition to monthly and annual subscription packages, a three-day subscription is available for only $3.99 (visit xtraframe.tv to sign up).

In addition to the PBA competition, Lubbock area grassroots bowlers will have an opportunity to bowl with the PBA stars in a pro-am on Friday at 7 p.m. For pro-am information, call South Plaines Lanes at (806) 794-4844.

South Plains Lanes, Lubbock, Texas, June 8-10 (all times CDT)

Friday, June 8
3 p.m. - Practice session
7 p.m. – Pro-Am squads

Saturday, June 9
8:30 a.m. - A Squad, 8 qualifying games
3:30 p.m. – B Squad, 8 qualifying games
    Top one-third of field after 8 games advance to cashers round

Sunday, June 10
8:30 a.m. – Top one-third of field, six games
     Top 16 after 14 games advance to match play
12:15 p.m. – Top 16, eight games modified round robin match play
    Top four after 22 games advance to stepladder finals
4:15 p.m. - Top four based on 22-game composite pinfall advance to a stepladder finals

For a complete roster of players entered, click here: https://www.pba.com/Rosters/Details/2684