GEICO PBA World Series of Bowling VIII Holiday Tripleheader Begins With Chameleon Championship Saturday at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN

by jschneider  |  Wednesday, December 21, 7:28 AM

GEICO PBA World Series of Bowling VIII Holiday Tripleheader Begins With Chameleon Championship Saturday at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN

PBA fans: Get ready for a Christmas weekend on ESPN that will include a GEICO PBA World Series of Bowling VIII presented by the Silver Legacy Resort and Casino tripleheader, beginning with the Chameleon Championship presented by on Christmas Eve at 1 p.m. ET.

Thomas Larsen of Denmark will be trying for his third PBA Tour title, but first in the U.S., in the Chameleon Championship after winning his Round of 8 best-of-five single elimination match, 3-1 (225-224, 262-246, 215-256, 259-250), over PBA Hall of Famer Pete Weber at the National Bowling Stadium. He’ll face a trio of players who are trying for their first PBA Tour title: A.J. Johnson of Oswego, Ill.; Mitch Beasley of Clarksville, Tenn., and Patrick Dombrowski of Parma, Ohio.

Johnson, who finished second in the 2015 USBC Masters as an amateur just completing his collegiate career at McKendree University, won his best-of-five match, 3-0 (290-222, 222-195, 234-228), over Brandon Novak of Chillicothe, Ohio.

Beasley, the 2016 FireLake PBA Tournament of Champions runner-up, beat four-time Tour winner EJ Tackett of Huntington, Ind., 3-1 (215-232, 264-247, 242-233, 239-219), in his Round of 8 match.

Making his television debut, Dombrowski advanced to the finals with a 3-1 (238-199, 180-226, 205-158, 203-161) victory over two-time Tour winner Mike DeVaney of Winchester, Calif.

To view a video preview of the Chameleon Championship visit

The Chameleon telecast, like all four World Series animal pattern finals, will use a format where the four players will bowl simultaneously on the same pair of lanes with the two highest scorers advancing to the title match.

The ESPN holiday weekend will conclude with a World Series doubleheader on Christmas day beginning with the PBA Scorpion Championship presented by Reno Tahoe USA at 2:30 p.m. ET, followed by the Shark Championship at 3:30 p.m.

To view a video preview of the Scorpion Championship


To view a video preview of the Shark Championship visit

In the Scorpion finals, BJ Moore III of Greensburg, Pa., makes his second WSOB VIII appearance after sweeping Beasley, 3-0 (224-197, 243-213, 256-165).

Five-time Tour winner Jesper Svensson of Sweden makes his first 2016 World Series telecast after a 3-2 (258-257, 160-188, 190-246, 248-201, 238-230) win over Tom Daugherty of Riverview, Fla. The 2016 FireLake PBA Tournament of Champions winner and Player of the Year contender will be trying for his fourth win of the year.

Former PBA Player of the Year and 17-time Tour winner Tommy Jones of Simpsonville, S.C., earned his first WSOB VIII ESPN appearance with a 3-1 (246-199, 211-227, 224-217, 212-199) win over Tackett.

Rounding out the Scorpion field will be Novak who notched a 3-2 (184-227, 218-195, 277-256, 193-218, 242-180) win over Kris Prather of Milton, Fla., to qualify for his first ESPN appearance.

The Shark Championship will feature a great mix of youth vs. age and experience. In the Shark Round of 8, PBA Hall of Famer Walter Ray Williams Jr. advanced to the finals after beating Tackett, 3-1 (236-222, 178-243, 248-219, 223-184). Williams will be trying to improve upon his PBA Tour record of 47 titles, which also would make him the oldest player ever to win a PBA Tour title at 57 years and 65 days.

Canadian Francois Lavoie, a 23-year-old rookie and the winner of the 2016 U.S. Open, advanced to the Shark finals by beating Sam Cooley of Australia, 3-0 (236-202, 221-171, 234-157).

Shark qualifying leader Andrew Cain of Phoenix advanced by beating Tom Smallwood of Saginaw, Mich., 3-0 (193-191, 278-211, 204-157). Rounding out the top four was Matt O’Grady of South Amboy, N.J., who is making his first Tour television appearance after sweeping Markus Jansson of Sweden, 3-0 (238-200, 205-174, 200-191). Cain and O’Grady are both trying for their first PBA Tour titles.