Field Set for PBA Chameleon Championship Finals at 8 p.m. ET on FS1

by Jerry Schneider  |  Tuesday, March 19, 2:45 PM

Four-time PBA Player of the Year and WSOB X World Championship top qualifier Jason Belmonte will try for his 20th career PBA Tour title and second of the season when he joins four-time tour winner Ronnie Russell, three-time winner Andres Gomez and AJ Chapman in tonight’s finals of the PBA Chameleon Championship live on FS1 at 8 p.m. ET

All four players survived Round of 16 and Round of 8 best-of-five game competition today in the second event of PBA World Series of Bowling X at Thunderbowl Lanes.

Bowling on the 39-foot PBA Chameleon lane condition, Belmonte beat Tim Pfeifer, who advanced all the way from the pre-tournament qualifier, 3-2. Gomez, who has won two of his tour titles in previous World Series events, beat PBA Hall of Famer and 40-time tour winner Norm Duke, 3-2, while Russell beat Rafiq Ismail of Malaysia, 3-1, and Chapman, trying for his first PBA Tour title, beat Anthony Pepe, 3-1, in Round-of-8 best-of-five elimination competition to advance to the telecast.

Belmonte owns the record for most titles bowled in WSOB events at four. He won his first title of the season in the PBA Tournament of Champions for a record-tying 10th major title.

WSOB competition continues with the Scorpion Championship Wednesday, with live finals also at 8 p.m. After the Scorpion Championship finals Wednesday, the stepladder finals for the PBA World Championship, the season’s third major, will take place Thursday at 8 p.m. ET on FS1. WSOB wraps up with the tape-delayed USA vs. The World team competition Friday at 8 p.m.

Thunderbowl Lanes, Allen Park, Mich.

Round of 8 (winners advance to championship round. Best-of-five matches, losers earned $3,000)

Andres Gomez, Colombia, def. Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., 3-2 (258-252, 225-274, 220-256, 213-201, 225-180).
Jason Belmonte, Australia, def. Tim Pfeifer, Oakdale, Pa., 3-2 (182-239, 255-187, 236-174, 226-232, 203-172).
AJ Chapman, Manchester, Iowa, def. Anthony Pepe, East Elmhurst, N.Y., 3-1 (219-175, 226-213, 226-242, 213-208).
Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind., def. Rafiq Ismail, Malaysia, 3-1 (193-196, 173-165, 211-188, 199-197).

Round of 16 (winners advance to Round-of-8. Best-of-five matches, losers earned $1,500)

AJ Chapman, Manchester, Iowa, def. Mitch Hupe, Canada, 3-1 (174-189, 214-180, 211-192, 193-181).
Anthony Pepe, East Elmhurst, N.Y., def. Bill O'Neill, Langhorne, Pa., 3-2 (183-190, 211-168, 212-245, 277-221, 243-182).
Rafiq Ismail, Malaysia, def. Kyle Sherman, O'Fallon, Mo., 3-0 (239-188, 300-170, 279-232).
Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind., def. Jimmy Cook, Indianapolis, 3-1 (246-205, 220-232, 247-245, 226-213).
Jason Belmonte, Australia, def. Matt McNiel, Minneapolis, Minn., 3-0 (258-247, 231-215, 211-192).
Tim Pfeifer, Oakdale, Pa., def. Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., 3-2 (207-252, 221-211, 215-234, 235-212, 201-190).
Andres Gomez, Colombia, def. Tom Daugherty, Riverview, Fla., 3-1 (255-141, 192-179, 193-197, 258-232).
Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., def. Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, 3-1 (215-225, 248-168, 225-205, 238-207).

300 games – Rafiq Ismail