Walter Ray Williams Jr. Wins PBA50 Sun Bowl In The Villages for Fifth Career PBA50 Tour Title

by jschneider  |  Tuesday, April 23, 6:43 PM

In a stepladder final made up of three of the Professional Bowlers Association’s all-time greats, Hall of Famer Walter Ray Williams Jr. of Ocala, Fla., prevailed to win his fifth career PBA50 Tour title by capturing the Sun Bowl In The Villages presented by Hammer title Tuesday at Spanish Springs Lanes.

Williams, the reigning PBA50 Player of the Year, defeated fellow Hall of Famer and 2012 PBA50 Rookie of the Year Amleto Monacelli of Venezuela, 276-216, in the championship match to win the second tournament of the 2013 PBA50 Tour season.

Williams found it necessary to implement the unusual technique of using a different ball on each lane of the championship pair in the title match to get the desired ball reaction on each lane.

“It’s not something I normally do, but I practiced with a few balls and was able to determine that if I needed to make a change like that I had the equipment I could do it with,” Williams said. “It turned out that I made the right decisions at the right time and Amleto had a couple bad breaks and I was fortunate to get the win.”

It was a rematch of the last time Williams and Monacelli, a 19-time Tour winner, met in a PBA50 Tour championship match when Monacelli defeated Williams 255-247 to win the 2012 PBA Senior U.S. Open last June in Las Vegas.

“Anytime you can beat Amleto it’s an accomplishment,” said Williams, who owns 47 PBA Tour titles which tops the all-time list. “There were so many great players in this tournament I feel very fortunate to have won it.”

Williams advanced to the title match by defeating Bo Goergen of Sanford, Mich., 258-191, in the semifinal. Goergen, who was trying for his first PBA50 Tour win, made a dramatic jump from seventh in the match play position round to make the final stepladder spot.

In the opening match, Goergen defeated Hall of Famer Pete Weber of St. Ann, Mo., 259-256. Weber, a 37 time PBA Tour winner who is competing as a rookie on the PBA50 Tour this season, won the PBA Tournament of Champions on March 31 for a record-tying 10th major title and also became the first player to win PBA’s triple crown twice. He was also a member of the New York City WTT KingPins team that won the inaugural PBA League Elias Cup.

Several scoring records were set during the Sun Bowl In The Villages which included the first 900 series in PBA history bowled by Joe Scarborough of Mars Hill, N.C., during the tournament’s first qualifying round. He ended the tournament finishing in a tie for 49th place. A record 20 300 games were bowled in the tournament and Scarborough along with Williams tied the record for most 300 games bowled in one tournament with three.

Another milestone was set when 87-year-old Darrell Ducat became the oldest player ever to bowl in a PBA event.

Throughout the 2013 PBA50 Tour season, players will be competing for the opportunity to advance to the nationally-televised PBA50 Tour Finals which will be conducted as part of the World Series of Bowling V in Las Vegas in November. The top three players in points at the conclusion of the season will advance to the PBA50 Tour Finals.

The PBA50 Tour makes its first visit to the Birmingham, Ala., area for the third stop of the season when the PBA50 Greater Birmingham Open presented by Ebonite will be conducted at Lightning Strikes in Trussville April 28-May 1.

PBA’s online bowling channel Xtra Frame will return with start-to-finish coverage of the PBA50 Miller High Life Classic presented by Columbia 300 at George Pappas Victory Lanes in Mooresville, N.C., May 5-8. Click on the Xtra Frame logo on the homepage for subscription and schedule information.


Spanish Springs Lanes, The Villages, Fla., Tuesday

Final Standings

1, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., $7,500.
2, Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, $4,000.
3, Bo Goergen, Sanford, Mich., $2,500.
4, Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., $2,000.

Stepladder Results
Match One: Goergen def. Weber, 259-256.
Semifinal Match: Williams Jr. def. Goergen, 258-191.
Championship: Williams Jr. def. Monacelli, 276-216.

Match play results after 32 games
Includes match play record and money won. Top four advance to stepadder finals.

1, Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, 11-5, 8,265.
2, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., 9-7, 8,130.
3, Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 12-4, 8,124.
4, Bo Goergen, Sanford, Mich., 7-8-1, 8,061.

Missed cut to stepladder final:
5, Wayne  Webb, Columbus, Ohio, 10-6, 8,058, $1,800.
6, Dale Traber, Cedarburg, Wis., 11-5, 8,039, $1,700.
7, Mark Williams, Beaumont, Texas, 10-5-1, 7,977, $1,600.
8, Marty Berke, Allentown, Pa., 10-6, 7,927, $1,550.
9, Bryan Goebel, Shawnee, Kan., 7-9, 7,899, $1,500.
10, Don Sylvia, Lady Lake, Fla., 8-8, 7,827, $1,450.
11, Kenny Parks, Hammond, Ind., 10-6, 7,804, $1,425.
12, Richard  McDaniel, Coconut Creek, Fla., 7-9, 7,776, $1,400.
13, John  Petraglia, Jackson, N.J., 7-9, 7,765, $1,375.
14, Mike Edwards, Tulsa, Okla., 10-6, 7,719, $1,350.
15, Bob Learn Jr., Erie, Pa., 7-9, 7,708, $1,325.
16, Hugh Miller, Seattle, 10-6, 7,705, $1,300.

Missed cut to final match play round:

17, Ron Dixon, Boynton Beach, Fla., 4-4, 5,753, $1,200.
18, Steve Neff, Homosassa Springs, Fla., 4-4, 5,752, $1,180.
19, Tom Baker, King, N.C., 4-4, 5,748, $1,160.
20, Sammy Ventura, Syracuse, N.Y., 6-2, 5,740, $1,140.
21, Timothy Kauble, Marion, Ohio, 3-5, 5,713, $1,130.
22, Rick Minier, Houston, Texas, 2-6, 5,708, $1,120.
23, Kevin Croucher, Grants Pass, Ore., 0-8, 5,682, $1,110.
24, a-Larry Barwick, Wauchula, Fla., 1-6-1, 5,647, $1,100.
25, Michael Henry, Brunswick, Ohio, 3-4-1, 5,635, $1,090.
26, Steve Ferraro, Kingston, N.Y., 5-2-1, 5,633, $1,080.
27, Nick Morgan, Sacramento, Calif., 2-5-1, 5,582, $1,075.
28, a-Roger Kossert, Lithia, Fla., 2-6, 5,555, $1,070.
29, Wayne Bolin, Lumberton, N.C., 2-6, 5,551, $1,065.
30, Gary Morgan, Marietta, Ga., 1-7, 5,545, $1,060.
31, Keith Sharp, Orlando, Fla., 2-6, 5,501, $1,055.
32, Darrell Adams, Flintstone, Ga., 2-6, 5,466, $1,050.

300 Games – 20; (PBA50 record for most 300s in one tournament; previous record 19, Columbus, Ohio, 2010) - Don Blatchford, Wayne Webb, Joe Scarborough (3), Christopher Keane, Bo Goergen, W.R. Williams Jr. (3), Darrell Adams, Richard McDaniel, Tim Kauble (2), Bill McCorkle, Amleto Monacelli, Bryan Goebel, Pete Weber, Johnny Petraglia, Don Sylvia.