Fort Worth Open

Meadowbrook Lanes, Fort Worth, Tex., Jul 23-26, 1970

And Burton Goes Fourth

There was little denying that 1970 was shaping up as the year of Nelson Burton Jr. Winner two weeks before in El Paso, and hampered in Houston by a bruised thumb, Burton stormed to his fourth title of the campaign in the Ft. Worth Open at Meadowbrook Lanes. The victory was at the expense of Jim Stefanich, runnerup for the second straight week.

While Mike Limongello was averaging 229 and stealing early headlines, Bo was lurking among the leaders after 24 games. Then, when the match games started, Burton was sixth and ready to make his move. He took his opener, 214-213, from Mike Durbin then unreeled efforts of 258, 259, 236, 242, 264 and 220 to soar into the lead. In taking 12 of 16, including a position round meeting with Stefanich, Nelson was not to be derailed in his march to still another championship.

Jimmy McHugh of Newark, N.J. wound up third, with Limongello fourth and Mike McGrath fifth. The lone 300 game rolled in the event was turned in by George Pappas.


 Name, City/StatePins  WLT+TotAmt
1Nelson Burton Jr., St. Louis, Mo. 8794 12-4-0 600 9394 $3,000
2Jim Stefanich, Joliet, III. 8803 9-7-0 450 9253 1,600
3Jimmy McHugh, Newark, N.J. 8688 10-6-0 500 9188 1,400
4Mike Limongello, N. Babylon, N.Y. 8837 6-10-0 300 9137 1,200
5Mike McGrath, El Cerrito, Cal. 8726 8-8-0 400 9126 1,100
6Skee Foremsky, Houston, Tex. 8539 10-6-0 500 9039 1,050
7Larry Lichstein, Windsor ocks, Conn. 8616 8-8-0 400 9016 1,000
8Larry Laub, San Francisco, Cal. 8604 8-8-0 400 9004 950
9Jack Biondolillo, Gilroy, Cal. 8655 6-9-1 325 8980 900
10Bobby Cooper, Houston, Tex. 8511 8-8-0 400 8911 850
11Dennis Swayda, Scottsdale, Ariz. 8500 8-8-0 400 8900 800
12Tim Brosnan, Ft. Worth, Tex. 8461 8-7-1 425 8886 750
13Mike Durbin, Dayton, 0. 8573 5-11-0 250 8823 700
**14Don Jones, Ft. Worth, Tex. 8413 8-8-0 400 8813 650
****15Eddy Patterson, Dallas, Tex. 8335 8-8-0 400 8686 532.50
16Mike Orlovsky, Endicott, N.Y. 8257 5-11-0 250 8507 600


Pos.Name, City/StateTotalAmount
****17Tommy Tuttle, King, N.C.5102$532.50
18Allie Clarke, Akron, Ohio5094420
*19Ernie Schlegel, Newburgh, N.Y.5077460
20Dave Davis, Miami, Fla.5065400
21Roy Buckley, Columbus, Ohio5058390
22Barry Asher, Costa Mesa, Cal.5054380
23Dick Ritger, Hartford, Wisc.5048370
24Bobby Knipple, Long Beach, Cal.5039360
***25George Pappas, Charlotte, N.C.5032350
**26Jimmy Wright, Houston, Tex.5024340
27Joe Light, Carrizozo, N.M.5017330
28Ralph Hartmann, New Hyde Park, N.Y.5014320
29Carmen Salvino, Chicago, Ill.5001310
30Johnny Guenther, Seattle, Wash.4996305
31Bill Tucker, St. Louis, Mo.4992300
32Tim Harahan, Canoga Park, Cal.499295
33A.W. "Bill" Johnson, New Orleans, La.4990290
34Pete Mylenki, Emerson, N.J.4989285
35Denny Krick, Tacoma, Wash.4981280
36Joe Dignam, Seattle, Wash.4963275
**37Eddie Brickell, Ft. Worth, Tex.4961265
 Gus Lampo, Endicott, N.Y.4961265
 Danny Sheranko, Houston, Tex.4961265
40Palmer Fallgren, Sacramento, Cal.4956255
41Earl Johnson, Tacoma, Wash.4947250
42Jack Crosley, Seattle, Wash.4946122.50
 Johnny Petraglia, Brooklyn, N.Y.4946122.50

*Alternate. **Local Entries. ***$100 for 300 game-George Pappas. ****Patterson replaced Tuttle in finals and was penalized 49 pins. 24-Game Qualifying Leader-Mike Limongello 5494. 16th Low-Don Jones 5129. PRO-AM CASHERS ($50)-Norm Meyers, Jim Stefanich, Mike Orlovsky, Les Zikes, Keith Wiltse, Earl Johnson.